Oscillation. Rotation. Process Analyzation

The new RPA ultra.

Always on the move.

The RPA ultra combines highly dynamic measurement methodology with maximum rigidity.

Infinite possibilities.

With a fully rotational lower die, the RPA ultra achieves shear rates at unprecedented levels.

Down to the smallest detail.

The high sampling rate of the RPA ultra reveals hidden material characteristics.

Highest quality is our drive, customer-oriented solutions are our motivation: that is why we, as a test equipment manufacturer, are expanding our product portfolio and traditionally focus on innovation.
With the new RPA ultra, materials can be inspected like never before.
This new type of advanced RPA testing allows access to valuable information contained in higher harmonics, steady shear viscosity or non-elliptical Lissajous figures. The rotating lower chamber allows to determine the steady shear viscosity of materials for the first time in spheres that are highly relevant to production.
This shifts the quality of testing to an unrivaled level.

Dive into new dimensions.

Fourier Transform Rheology

For detailed information please click the icons.

For an optimal signal-to-noise ratio during a measurement, the number of data points is of great importance.
The RPAultra meets all requirements here: high sampling rate and instrument stiffness, state-of-the-art electronics and an optimized Fourier algorithm delivers unique results for material characterization.
The Fourier spectrum of the torque (modulus) and strain (displacement) is always analyzed and displayed; only then can material differences be made transparent in a repeatable manner.

To avoid distortion, the sampling frequency must be at least twice as high as the highest frequency you want to capture.

If the sampling is too low, the signal cannot be detected cleanly and the signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) decreases. This means that the higher harmonics are no longer clearly detectable.

Due to the extremely high sampling rate, higher harmonics can be easily measured with incomparable reproducibility.

  • Henri G. Burhin

    Head of Polymer Process Consult SRL

    „In the early ‚90s, Monsanto Instruments aimed to add a continuous rotation mode in their RPA. This failed due to technical limitations of that time. Finally, Bareiss made it a reality in their RPA ultra. This unique test mode provides precise steady shear viscosity, the prerequisite to truly successful flow simulation."

  • Thomas Rauschmann

    Consulting
    RTS Rubber Technology and Service

    „Bareiss' RPA ultra is the first real major advancement in RPA's since the 80's."

  • Oliver Wirth

    Bareiss Prüfgerätebau GmbH
    Managing Director and Partner
    Research and Development

    „Our RPA ultra impresses with an enormous reproducibility of the measured values as well as with its worldwide unique measuring methods. Of course, quality and perfection are also the focus of this product - simply a device with Bareiss DNA."

Steady Shear Viscosity

To better understand the manufacturing process of an unvulcanized rubber compound, the steady shear viscosity is one of the most important properties, especially crucial for determining the process parameters for extrusion and injection molding purposes.
The RPA ultra's rotating lower die with unlimited strain thus provides the user with a dual test mode: dynamic and steady shear.

Wall Slip

A significant challenge in the processing of rubber compounds is the issue of Wall Slip.
This is a rheological phenomenon where slippage occurs, for example, between the extruder wall and the flowing material.
We offer an optional solution where the upper die is replaced by a defined polished die set. In combination with a programmable internal pressure, this allows Wall Slip experiments to be carried out.

Isothermal Test

One of the most common and important tests performed on rubber compounds are the isothermal cure tests.
All important test parameters such as maximum and minimum torque, TC values, reaction time and rate, etc. are determined and made available to the user in tabular or/and graphical form for further analysis in the BareissOne software.

Non-Isothermal Test

In order to evaluate the behavior of a sample over a wide temperature range, non-isothermal measurements (temperature sweep) are typically performed at different heating rates. This measurement at different heating rates also paves the way for kinetic calculations - a module that is also integrated into the BareissOne software.

Kinetics

From an isothermal test, values such as incubation time, reaction order and conversion rate constant can be determined for each temperature. The calculation is according to the DIN 53529 standard. With the help of the incubation time and the conversion rate constant at at least 3 different temperatures, the activation energies of the incubation and the conversion can also be determined. These are essential parameters for the computation of the heating time for the test specimen and also finds its use in production line.

Frequency Sweep

By characterizing a sample over a wide range of frequencies, the user obtains a comprehensive overview of the viscoelastic behavior as well as the molecular structure (molecular weight and molecular weight distribution).
Viscoelastic properties such as complex modulus, elastic modulus, loss modulus, complex viscosity, phase angle, etc. are calculated at each frequency as a result of the frequency-dependent behavior of the sample.

Strain Sweep

Measuring a specimen over a wide strain range shows the strain-dependent behavior, e.g., the linear viscoelastic range (LVE) up to Large Amplitude Oscillatory Shear (LAOS). The Payne test, which is performed at small strain amplitudes to investigate the (filler/polymer) filler networks, reveals information about the filler content and the filler dispersion levels.

Large Amplitude Oscillatory Shear (LAOS)

LAOS is essentially a strain sweep performed at relatively large amplitudes to investigate and evaluate the nonlinear viscoelastic behavior of a sample.
The nonlinear behavior of a material is based on its polymer architecture --> linear or branched polymer.
The LAOS results are also used for FT- Rheology. The calculation of the LCB index (Long Chain Branching) or the Q parameter is performed using the harmonic spectrum from Fourier analysis (FFT).

Matrix-test

In the frequency and strain sweeps described above, one parameter (frequency or strain) is held constant while the other parameter (frequency or strain) is changed over a range. Matrix testing allows the user to change both parameters - frequency and strain - during a sweep, making the test method more flexible and thus providing more information with a single measurement.


  • RELEASE

    Celebrate the release of our RPA ultra with us exclusively at our headquarters in Oberdischingen.


    SEMINAR

    Broaden your horizons by attending lectures with well-known speakers on material characterization topics.


    INSIGHT

    Get a unique insight into our production site and product portfolio.


    HANDS ON

    Why not bring your test samples and we'll look together for the perfect solution.


  • WORLD OF TEST

    Benefit from our knowledge of various analytical measurement methods.


    MEET OUR TEAM

    Ask your questions directly to our service team and get competent and individual advice.


    NETWORKING

    We look forward to meeting you and to introduce you all to our “modern day” traditional company

SEPTEMBER 29, 2022

Register now

and win one of

35 places.

„We cordially invite you to our exclusive Release Seminar at our headquarters in Oberdischingen. Be our guest and experience a day with top-class technical presentations in German and gain unique insights into our work as a manufacturer and accredited calibration laboratory. “

Relesase seminar lottery

    „The RPA ultra expands the scope of application to better describe current topics in rubber technology, such as Wall Slip, Polymer Architecture and use of sustainable Fillers like recovered Carbon Black (rCB)“

    Downloads

    „Für weitere Informationen nutzen Sie unseren Download-Service.“

    Brochure
    Test it! Magazin
    Never miss out again! With the Bareiss newsletter, you will receive the latest information on a regular basis. Sign up now for free with your email.

      © COPYRIGHT 2022 BAREISS PRÜFGERÄTEBAU GMBH

Oszillieren. Rotieren. Prozesse analysieren.

Das neue RPA ultra.

Immer in Bewegung.

Das RPA ultra vereint hochdynamische Messmethodik mit maximaler Steifigkeit.

Unendliche Möglichkeiten.

Durch volle Rotation der Kammer erreicht das RPA ultra Scherraten in nie da gewesener Höhe.

Bis ins kleinste Detail.

Die extremen Abtastraten des RPA ultra offenbaren verborgene Materialkenngrößen.

Höchste Qualität ist unser Antrieb, kundenorientiere Lösungen sind unsere Motivation:
deshalb erweitern wir als Prüfgerätehersteller unser Produktportfolio und setzen dabei
traditionell auf Innovation. Mit dem neuen RPA ultra lassen sich Materialien untersuchen, wie
es nie zuvor möglich gewesen ist.
Diese neue Art der fortschrittlichen RPA-Prüfung ermöglicht den Zugang zu wertvollen
Informationen, die in höheren Harmonischen, stationärer Scherviskosität oder nicht-
elliptischen Lissajous-Figuren enthalten sind. Durch die rotierende untere Kammer lässt
sich die transiente Viskosität von Materialien erstmals in Bereichen ermitteln,
die für die Produktion in hohem Maße relevant sind.
Damit wird die Qualität des Prüfens auf ein konkurrenzloses Niveau verschoben.

TAUCHEN SIE EIN IN NEUE DIMENSIONEN.

FOURIER-TRANSFORMATION-RHEOLOGIE

Für detaillierte Information bitte die Icons berühren.

Für ein optimales Signal Rausch Verhältnis während einer Messung ist die Anzahl der Datenpunkte von großer Bedeutung.
Das RPAultra erfüllt hier alle Voraussetzungen: hohe Abtastrate, hohe Steifigkeit, modernste Elektronik und einen optimierten Fourier Algorithmus liefern einzigartige Ergebnisse für die Materialcharakterisierung.
Hierbei wird immer das Fourier Spektrum von Drehmoment (Modul) und Auslenkung (Weg) betrachtet und ausgegeben, nur so können Materialunterschiede wiederholbar transparent gemacht werden.

Um eine Verzerrung zu vermeiden muss die Abtastfrequenz mindestens doppelt so hoch sein wie die höchste Frequenz die man erfassen möchte.

Ist die Abtastung zu niedrig, kann das Messsignal nicht sauber detektiert werden und das Signal-Rauschverhältnis (SNR) wird geringer. Damit sind die höheren Harmonischen nicht mehr eindeutig erkennbar.

Durch die extreme hohe Abstastrate können höhere Harmonische problemlos mit unvergleichbarer Reproduzierbarkeit gemessen werden.

  • Henri G. Burhin

    Head of Polymer Process Consult SRL

    „In den frühen 90er Jahren wollte Monsanto Instruments einen kontinuierlichen Rotationsmodus in sein RPA integrieren. Dies scheiterte an den technischen Einschränkungen der damaligen Zeit. Nun hat Bareiss es mit seinem RPA ultra Wirklichkeit werden lassen. Dieser einzigartige Testmodus liefert eine präzise Aussage über transiente Viskosität, die wiederum Voraussetzung für erfolgreiche Strömungssimulationen ist."

  • Thomas Rauschmann

    Consulting
    RTS Rubber Technology and Service

    „Das RPA ultra von Bareiss ist die erste richtig große Weiterentwicklung der RPA’s seit den 80er Jahren."

  • Oliver Wirth

    Bareiss Prüfgerätebau GmbH
    Managing Director and Partner
    Research and Development

    „Unser RPA ultra besticht durch eine enorme Reproduzierbarkeit der Messwerte sowie durch seine weltweit einzigartigen Messemethoden. Natürlich steht auch bei diesem Produkt die Qualität und Perfektion im Mittelpunkt – eben ein Gerät mit Bareiss DNA"

Transiente Viskosität

Um den Verarbeitungsprozess einer unvulkanisierten Gummimischung besser zu verstehen, ist die transiente Scherviskosität eine der wichtigsten Eigenschaften, vor allem für die Bestimmung der Prozessparameter für Extrusions- und Spritzgusszwecke. Die rotierende untere Kammer mit unbegrenzter Dehnung des RPA ultra bietet dem Benutzer somit einen doppelten Prüfmodus: Dynamische und konstante Scherung.

Wandgleiten

Eine wesentliche Herausforderung bei der Verarbeitung von Gummimischungen ist das Thema Wandgleiten.
Dabei handelt es sich um ein rheologisches Phänomen, bei dem ein Gleiten zum Beispiel zwischen der Extruderwand und dem fließenden Material auftritt. Wir bieten eine optionale Lösung an, bei der die obere Kammer durch einen definiert polierten Kammersatz ersetzt wird. In Kombination mit einem programmierbaren Innendruck können damit Wandgleit-Experimente durchgeführt werden.

Isotherme Messung

Eine der häufigsten und wichtigsten Prüfungen, die an Gummimischungen durchgeführt werden, sind die isothermen Vulkanisationstests.
Alle wichtigen Prüfparameter wie maximales und minimales Drehmoment, TC-Werte, Reaktionszeit und -rate etc. werden ermittelt und dem Benutzer in tabellarischer und/oder grafischer Form für weitere Analysen in der BareissOne-Software zur Verfügung gestellt.

Anisotherme Messung

Um das Verhalten einer Probe über einen weiten Temperaturbereich zu beurteilen werden typischerweise anisotherme Messungen (Temperatursweep) mit verschiedenen Heizraten durchgeführt. Diese Messung bei verschiedenen Heizraten ebnet auch den Weg für anisotherme kinetische Berechnungen - ein Modul, das ebenfalls in der BareissOne-Software integriert ist.

Kinetik

Aus der isothermen Prüfung (Vulkameterkurve) lassen sich Ergebnisse wie Inkubationszeit, Reaktionsordnung und Umsatzgeschwindigkeitskonstante für jede Temperatur bestimmen. Basis dieser Berechnung ist die DIN 53529. Mit Hilfe der Inkubationszeit und der Umsatzgeschwindigkeitskonstanten bei mindestens 3 unterschiedlichen Temperaturen, lassen sich ebenso die Aktivierungsenergien der Inkubation und des Umsatzes bestimmen. Dies sind wesentliche Parameter für die Heizzeitberechnung am Prüfkörper, aber auch für die Produktion.

Frequenz-Sweep

Durch die Charakterisierung einer Probe über einen breiten Frequenzbereich erhält der Benutzer einen umfassenden Überblick über das viskoelastische Verhalten sowie über die Molekularstruktur (Molekulargewicht und Molekulargewichtsverteilung).
Viskoelastische Eigenschaften wie komplexer Modul, Elastizitätsmodul, Verlustmodul, komplexe Viskosität, Phasenwinkel usw. werden bei jeder Frequenz als Ergebnis des frequenzabhängigen Verhaltens der Probe berechnet.

Amplituden-Sweep

Das Messen einer Probe über einen weiten Amplitudenbereich zeigt das dehnungsabhängige Verhalten, zum Beispiel den linear-viskoelastischen Bereich (LVE) bis hin zu Large Amplitude Oscillatory Shear (LAOS). Der Payne-Test, der bei kleinen Dehnungsamplituden zur Untersuchung der (Füllstoff-/Polymer-)Füllstoff-Netzwerke ausgeführt wird, zeigt den Füllstoffanteil und den Füllstoffdispersionsgrad auf.

Large Amplitude Oscillatory Shear (LAOS)

LAOS ist im Wesentlichen ein Amplituden-Sweep, der mit relativ großen Amplituden durchgeführt wird, um das nichtlineare viskoelastische Verhalten einer Probe zu untersuchen und zu bewerten.
Das nichtlineare Verhalten eines Materials basiert auf seiner Polymerarchitektur > lineares oder verzweigtes Polymer.
Die LAOS-Ergebnisse werden auch für die FT-Rheologie verwendet. Die Berechnung des LCB-Indizes (Long Chain Branching) oder des Q Parameters erfolgt unter Verwendung des harmonischen Spektrums aus der Fourier Analyse (FFT).

Matrix-Test

Bei den oben beschriebenen Frequenz- und Amplituden-Sweeps wird ein Parameter (Frequenz oder Dehnung) konstant gehalten während der jeweils andere Parameter (Frequenz oder Dehnung) über einen bestimmten Bereich geändert wird. Bei der Matrixprüfung kann der Benutzer beide Parameter - Frequenz und Dehnung - während eines Sweeps ändern, wodurch das Prüfverfahren flexibler wird und somit mehr Information mit einer Messung bietet.


  • RELEASE

    Feiern Sie mit uns exklusiv im Hauptsitz in Oberdischingen das Release unseres RPA ultra.


    SEMINAR

    Erweitern Sie Ihren Horizont durch Vorträge mit bekannten Sprechern zu Themen der Materialcharakterisierung.


    INSIGHT

    Erhalten Sie einen einmaligen Einblick in unseren Produktionsstandort und unser Produktportfolio.


    HANDS ON

    Bringen Sie doch Ihre Prüflinge mit und wir schauen gemeinsam nach der perfekten Lösung.


  • WORLD OF TEST

    Profitieren Sie von unserem Wissen über verschiedene analytische Messverfahren.


    MEET OUR TEAM

    Stellen Sie Ihre Fragen direkt an unser Service-Team und lassen Sie sich kompetent und individuell beraten.


    NETWORKING

    Wir freuen uns darauf, Sie kennenzulernen und Ihnen unser modernes Traditionsunternehmen zu präsentieren.

29. SEPTEMBER 2022

Jetzt anmelden

und einen von

35 Plätzen gewinnen.

„Wir laden Sie herzlich zu unserem exklusiven Release Seminar in unserem Hauptsitz in Oberdischingen ein. Seien Sie unser Gast und erleben Sie einen Tag mit hochkarätigen Fachvorträgen und einmaligen Einblicken in unser Wirken als Hersteller und akkreditiertes Kalibrierlabor. “

Gewinnspiel: Release-Seminar.

    „Das RPA ultra erweitert den Anwendungsbereich um unter anderem aktuelle Themen der Kautschuktechnologie wie zum Beispiel Wandgleitverhalten, Polymerverzweigung und nachhaltige Füllstoffe (rCB) besser beschreiben zu können.“

    Downloads

    „Für weitere Informationen nutzen Sie unseren Download-Service.“

    BroschüreTest it! Magazin
    Nichts mehr verpassen! Mit dem Bareiss Newsletter erhalten Sie regelmäßig aktuelle Informationen.
    Jetzt kostenlos mit Ihrer Email anmelden.

      © COPYRIGHT 2022 BAREISS PRÜFGERÄTEBAU GMBH